OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help



   SAX vote: "SAX2" wins first-round majority (preliminary results)

[ Lists Home | Date Index | Thread Index ]
  • From: David Megginson <david@megginson.com>
  • To: "XML Developers' List" <xml-dev@ic.ac.uk>
  • Date: Thu, 18 Mar 1999 10:59:40 -0500 (EST)

Voting for the name of the next version of SAX closed a midnight (EST) 
last night, St. Patrick's day.

Here are the preliminary results:

  "SAX2":    19 votes
  "OpenSAX": 12 votes
  "ModSAX":  2 votes

Since the name "SAX2" has won a clear majority, there is no need for a
further round.  However, I did tabulate the votes manually, and would
like to ask everyone to check the following list to ensure that I
recorded their votes correctly (I might add this list to the SAX2
documentation, so make certain that posterity will know what your real
opinion was):

SAX2 (19 votes)

Parand Tony Darugar <tdarugar@binevolve.com>
John E. Simpson <simpson@polaris.net>	
Jonathan Borden <jborden@mediaone.net>
Don Park <donpark@quake.net>
Paul Tchistopolskii <paul@globalsight.com>
Lars Marius Garshol <larsga@ifi.uio.no>
Marcus Carr <mrc@allette.com.au>
Timothy S Balraj <tbalraj@india.dharma.com>
Steven Marcus <srnm@yahoo.com>
Moncef Mezghani <Moncef.Mezghani@wanadoo.fr>
Ronald Bourret <rbourret@ito.tu-darmstadt.de>
Andy Redhead <Andy.Redhead@ThomsonConsulting.com>
Michael Kay <Michael.Kay@icl.com>
Adrian Tivey <A.Tivey@hgmp.mrc.ac.uk>
Jason A. Buss <jabuss@cessna.textron.com>
David Brownell <David.Brownell@Eng.Sun.COM>
Rajiv Mordani <Rajiv.Mordani@Eng.Sun.COM>
Eric Armstrong <eric.armstrong@eng.sun.com>
Matthias Spycher <Matthias.Spycher@Eng.Sun.COM>

OpenSAX (12 votes)

Bill la Forge <b.laforge@jxml.com>
John Orla-bukowski <John.Orla-bukowski@Schwab.COM>
Lisa Richards (RTIS)" <lisa.richards@reedtech.com>
John Cowan <cowan@locke.ccil.org>
Ramin Firoozye <ramin@wizen.com>
Dan Brickley <Daniel.Brickley@Bristol.ac.uk>
Jouni Miettunen <Jouni.Miettunen@ccc.fi>
E.L. Willighagen <egonw@sci.kun.nl>
Mike Dacon[?] <MikeDacon@aol.com>
Bob DuCharme <DuCharmR@moodys.com>
Dr. Janet Bagg <J.Bagg@ukc.ac.uk>
Simon St.Laurent <simonstl@simonstl.com>

ModSAX (2 votes)

Clark Evans <clark.evans@manhattanproject.com>
W. E. Perry <wperry@fiduciary.com>

Thanks, and all the best,


p.s. I would have voted for "ModSAX" if I had not been conducting the
     vote, but "SAX2" would still have had a one-vote majority.

David Megginson                 david@megginson.com

xml-dev: A list for W3C XML Developers. To post, mailto:xml-dev@ic.ac.uk
Archived as: http://www.lists.ic.ac.uk/hypermail/xml-dev/ and on CD-ROM/ISBN 981-02-3594-1
To (un)subscribe, mailto:majordomo@ic.ac.uk the following message;
(un)subscribe xml-dev
To subscribe to the digests, mailto:majordomo@ic.ac.uk the following message;
subscribe xml-dev-digest
List coordinator, Henry Rzepa (mailto:rzepa@ic.ac.uk)


News | XML in Industry | Calendar | XML Registry
Marketplace | Resources | MyXML.org | Sponsors | Privacy Statement

Copyright 2001 XML.org. This site is hosted by OASIS