OASIS Mailing List ArchivesView the OASIS mailing list archive below
or browse/search using MarkMail.


Help: OASIS Mailing Lists Help | MarkMail Help



   Re: [xml-dev] [Off-Topic] Who/What is flowserve.com? (A Report to Sender

[ Lists Home | Date Index | Thread Index ]

"Wayne Steele" <xmlmaster@hotmail.com> wrote:

| I can understand your shock and alarm,

Exasperation, actually.  

| but wouldn't your complaints be better heard through the proper channels?

Possibly.  But I don't fancy writing back to a bot.

| I see that your email address is at nyct.net, which appears to be an ISP 
| in  New York City. This looks like a "service" they offer their customers.

NYCT has nothing to do with this.  The bot that generated this notice is
at flowserve.com, not at nyct.net.  Someone is subscribed to this list in
a fashion such that the list distribution passes through flowserve.com for
delivery.  Quite possibly the bot's *intended* recipient is this someone.
Possibly also the bot can't tell the difference between private email (in
which case a notification to the originator might be appropriate) and a
mailing list distribution.  I don't know.

What I do know is that the old days are over, where one could pursue this
in private email with a reasonable chance of addressing someone clueful. 

Stupidities like this continue to occur because people *don't* know and
*don't* care.  Maybe *public* ridicule and opprobrium - the clue-by-four
that seems increasingly necessary these days - could make a difference.


News | XML in Industry | Calendar | XML Registry
Marketplace | Resources | MyXML.org | Sponsors | Privacy Statement

Copyright 2001 XML.org. This site is hosted by OASIS